2015 WORKSHOPS

at MOUNTAIN GARDENS

These workshops take advantage of our unique combination of diverse habitats, extensive plant collection, extraordinary library and well-equipped herb shop, plus my forty years of study and experimentation.

As a ‘botanic garden of useful plants’, one of our purposes is to introduce and promote new useful plants, for gardeners, growers, herbalists and chefs. Areas of special interest include wildfoods, medicinal herbs, (native and oriental), health-boosting (tonic, adaptogenic) plants and east-west parallels in botany and pharmacy.

Seeds and plants of most of the species discussed will be available for purchase; additionally participants will have the opportunity to purchase freshly dug, bare-root plants at a considerable saving.

Half-day workshops cost $50, all-day $100 (bring your own lunch). Some workshops will include valuable handouts.  For information on driving, lodging, and refunds, click here.

To Register for an event, please either call:  828-675-5664
or follow the link for each date to register online.

 

Workshop Details and Information

Pharmacy Workshops

Plant Emphasis Workshops

Gardening in the Mountains:  2015 Weekend Series

essentialoils

 

 

pao_zhi

IMG_2136

CALENDAR OF EVENTS 2015
MOUNTAIN GARDENS

Apr 18 Sat 1:30-5 Edible & medicinal native plants, ID, uses, propagation, harvest
Apr 24 Fri 1:30-5 “ “ “ “ “ “ “
Apr 25-26 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series I

May 1-3 Selling plants at Asheville Herb Festival
May 9 Sat 1:30-5 Making a woodland garden of useful plants
May 16-17 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series II
May 23 Sat 9:30-5 How to Grow Chinese herbs
May 24 Sun 1:30-5 Perennial vegetables
May 29 Fri Open house & tour in conjunction with Medicines from the Earth
May 30 – June 1 Selling plants at Medicines from the Earth, Black Mountain, NC

June 6 Sat 9:30-5 Pao zhi: Chinese herb processing, CEUs offered
June 13-14 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series III
June 27 Sat 1:30-5 How to propagate and grow Wasabi
June 28 Sun 9:30-5 How to grow Chinese herbs (again)

July 3 Fri 1:30-5 Perennial vegetables: ID, propagation, cultivation, harvest
July 11 Sat 9:30-5 Making preparations from Chinese herbs, CEUs offered
July 18-19 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series IV
July 25 Sat 9:30-5 Eclectic / 19th century pharmacy: making preparations from native herbs

Aug 7 Fri 1:30-5 Perennial vegetables (again)
Aug 9 Sun 9:30-5 Pao Zhi, CEUs offered
Aug 15-16 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series V

Sept 13 Sun 9:30-5 Making preparations from Chinese herbs, CEUs offered
Sept 19-20 Gardening in the Mountains weekend series VI

Oct 3 Sat 1:30-5 Bupin: using Chinese tonic herbs in longevity / rejuvenative cuisine
Oct 10 Sat 1:30-5 Preparing meads and liqueurs from Chinese tonic / longevity herbs
Workshops are priced as follows*:

  • Half-day: $50
  • One day: $100
  • *plus registration fee
  • ~ Please see here for Gardening in the Mountains weekend series pricing and details.

At Mountain Gardens, we strive to create an inclusive and accessible learning environment for students of all socioeconomic backgrounds. Sliding scale, barter, and work trade options may be available upon request.